TRENTU.CA / NEWS AND EVENTS /

Trent University Celebrates Exceptional Contributions of Staff, Faculty and Retirees at Heart of the Trent

May 5, 2021

Trent University recognizes hard work and dedication of employees during virtual celebration



The outstanding contributions of Trent faculty, staff and retirees were celebrated during the University's annual Heart of Trent employee appreciation event, held virtually earlier today.

"In an unpredictable and challenging year, our faculty and staff have remained deeply committed to Trent and our students, by embracing new ways of working, collaborating and teaching," says Dr. Leo Groarke, president and vice-chancellor. "Our annual Heart of Trent event is a celebration of all employees and the inspiring community we have built together here at the University."

At the virtual event, the University announced and celebrated the 2019/20 and 2020/21 winners in several esteemed award categories – Team Innovation, Community Leadership, Eminent Service, Provost Award for Support Staff, the Nancy E. Simmons Smith Staff Award of Excellence, and the new Research Impact Award.

Trent also recognized its long-serving employees and retirees, and paid tribute to those who passed away in the last two years, including the University's founding President Thomas H.B. Symons

A full list of award winners is included below:

Provost's Award for Support Staff: Awarded annually to a member of the support staff who plays an important role in student engagement and retention, and who makes a difference through their performance at Trent.

2020/21: Maureen Glynn, Senior eLearning Designer, Centre for Teaching and Learning

Nancy E. Simmons Smith Staff Award of Excellence: Recognizes non-academic staff members who demonstrate excellence and exceptional commitment to Trent.

2019/20: Patricia Heffernan, Academic Administrative Assistant, Traill College

2020/21: Kerrilyn Sheward, Manager, Print & Retail Services; and Kathryn Verhulst-Rogers, Manager, Communications

Team Innovation Award: Recognizes a team, unit or department at Trent University whose innovative contributions have impacted the strategic objectives of the University.

2019/20: Human Resources Information System Implementation Team, including the Department of Human Resources, Rosanna Grims, Francisca Eckstein, Rob Campbell and Andrew Bell

2020/21: Information Technology; and Student Health Services

Trent Community Leadership Award: Recognizes faculty and staff who make exceptional contributions to the local community in Peterborough or Durham regions.

2020/21: Louise Campbell, Scheduling Administrator, Office of the Registrar (staff winner); Paul Elliott, Professor, School of Education (faculty winner)

Eminent Service Awards: Recognizes individuals distinguished by a track record of outstanding contributions to University life that go beyond the performance of their job or role, awarded at the culmination of their careers at Trent.

2019/20: Joe Muldoon, head of Trent University Durham; Don McCaskill, Indigenous Studies professor

2020/21: Jacqueline Muldoon, provost and vice president Academic; Sue Robinson, alumni coordinator; Jodi Aoki, archivist; and the late Christy Carlson, academic advisor.

Trent University Research Impact Award (new for 2020/21): Honours Trent researchers or research teams stewarding original and impactful research that has contributed significantly to society on a local, regional, national or international scale.

2020/21: Rural Aging Research Program – Dr. Mark Skinner, Dr. Elizabeth Russell and Amber Colibaba

2020 and 2021 Long Service Awards

- 25 years: Sherry Booth, Donna Hoard, Tracy Flaherty, Fiona Harris-Stoertz, Sharon Hepburn, Brendan Hickie and Gyles lannone
- 30 years: Joel Markle, Sandra Sisson, Jacqueline Slater, Robert Loney, Susan Landry, Brenda Whetung, Jodi Aoki, Charmaine Eddy, Alan O'Connor, Andreas Pickel, Elaine Stavro, Stefan Bilaniuk, Richard Hurley, Winnie Lem, Mark Neufeld, Raul Ponce-Hernandez, David Sheinin, and Deborah White
- 35 years: Clifford Kee, Darlene Stanley, Julia Crowe, Nancy Fawcett, Judy Pinto, Michele Sparkes, Stephen Brown, Marisa Scigliano, Robert Wright, Kathryn Chittick, Erica Nol
- 40 years: Carol Cartwright

The following 2019/20 Trent University retirees were also honoured at the event: Louise Bonner; Sharon Bosnell; John Boudreau; John Britton; Rosemary Dunford; Michael Fox; William Gibson; Jean Hall; Barbara Hedges; David Holdsworth; Karen Johnson; Clifford Kee; Martin Kennaley; Leah Kindree; Trudy Kirschner; David Marshall; Karen Mauro; Joe Muldoon; Steven Pillar; Maeve Quaid; Joan Sangster; Sandra Sisson; Margaret Wallace; Elizabeth Wilson.

